2021 Inclusion Alberta Award Winners

2021 Inclusion Alberta Award Winners

April 23, 2021

Over 550 people gathered virtually April 16th and 17th for the 2021 Inclusion Alberta Family Conference. The Conference is the largest and longest standing of its kind in the world, and featured speakers Dr. Paula Kluth and Janet Klees and two full days of sessions where families, educators and service providersdeepened their knowledge and commitment to assisting children and adults with developmental disabilities to live fully inclusive and meaningful lives in their community.

Time is taken at every Family Conference to recognize those in Alberta who are creating inclusive communities, and we would like to congratulate this year’s award winners:

The 2021 National Inclusive Education Awards

National Inclusive Education Awards. Simon Fraser School, AE Cross School, St. Mary School/Learning Services at Edmonton Catholic SchoolsThe National Inclusive Education Award is an initiative organized by Inclusion Canada and its Provincial and Territorial member associations. The award for Alberta is provided jointly by Inclusion Canada and InclusionAlberta to honour a teacher, school or school district whose commitment to inclusive education is exemplary and deserving of recognition.



This year, the award is presented to:

  • Simon Fraser School in Calgary (Laureen Lailey)
  • AE Cross School in Calgary (Chris Aylesworth, James Froehler, and Nicholas Moskaluk)
  • Learning Services at Edmonton Catholic Schools and St. Mary Elementary School (Rhonda Lang)

As an organization that values and supports the full inclusion of children in regular classrooms, Inclusion Alberta thanks Simon Fraser School, AE Cross School, Learning Services at Edmonton Catholic Schools and St. Mary Elementary School for their commitment to their students who have been fortunate to be fully included in their regular classrooms.


The Bruce Uditsky Leadership Award

Barb Reid, GRIT Program, Bruce Uditsky Leadership Award. Barb poses wearing a jean jacket and glasses.Winner: Barb Reid, Executive Director of The GRIT Program

The most prestigious award presented by Inclusion Alberta. It is only presented when an individual or organization truly demonstrates exemplary leadership in advancing the full inclusion of individuals with developmental disabilities. It is awarded to individuals or groups whose inspirational leadership efforts have made an invaluable and lasting difference to Albertans. 


The Colonel Eric W. and Dr. Barbara V. Cormack Memorial Award

Cormack Memorial Award Winner Dr. David Oakleaf. David poses in front of a books shelf, wearing a beige shirtWinner: Dr. David Oakleaf (Calgary)

The Colonel Eric W. and Dr. Barbara V. Cormack Memorial Award is given to an Alberta resident who has made an outstanding, long-term voluntary contribution to serving the interests of people with developmental disabilities and their families.



The Community Inclusion Award









The Community Inclusion Award is given to individuals or organizations in Alberta whose actions on a day-to-day basis result in children or adults with developmental disabilities having increased opportunities to be included in community life.

Congratulations to all award winners, and thank you for making a difference in our communities!