Albertans appointed to Premier?s council on disabilities

July 17, 2014

Council Chair Carmen Wyton from St. Albert along with Bryce Clarke of Ardrossan have been reappointed. Chloë Atkins of Calgary; Tara Chisholm from Medicine Hat; and Lori Shortreed and Cameron Tait of Edmonton are new members of the council. All will serve terms up to December 31, 2016. In addition, Naresh Bhardwaj, Associate Minister of Services for Persons with Disabilities will serve as a member and Deputy Chair.

The members were selected for their understanding of issues affecting Albertans with disabilities, strong connections to the disability community, excellent communication skills, and clear understanding of the strategic policy advisory role of the council.

“We strive to have diverse representation on the council, combined with relevant knowledge and connection with issues that affect people with disabilities. I am pleased be working with these dedicated individuals on the council to help increase government’s awareness and understanding of Albertans with disabilities and the issues that affect their lives.”

Naresh Bhardwaj, Associate Minister of Services for Persons with Disabilities

The Premier’s Council on the Status of Persons with Disabilities advises, reports to and makes recommendations to the Alberta government about matters relating to the opportunity for full and equal participation of Albertans with disabilities.

Members engage with the disability community; communicate their ideas, opinions and concerns to government and the broader community; and work with governments, community organizations, and other stakeholders toward solutions.

Media inquiries